Watch me disappear : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Spiegel & Grau, [2017].
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
358 pages ; 25 cm
Status
Rapid City Public Library - Fiction - Adult
BROWN
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Rapid City Public Library - Fiction - AdultBROWNOn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Grace Balloch Memorial Library - Fiction - AdultBROWN, JANELLEOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
9780812989465 :, 0812989465 :

Notes

Description
"A beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past vanishes while hiking, leaving her family to piece together her secrets, in this keenly observed novel for readers of Emma Straub and Maria Semple--from the bestselling author ofAll We Ever Wanted Was Everything"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"Billie is a beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past--a teenage runaway from Northern California who took up with a group of environmental activists wanted by the FBI, lived dangerously, but when she meets Jonathan, a tech magazine editor and all around good guy, she settles easily into the life of an eco-conscious, stay-at-home suburban yoga mom. Their daughter Olive, under her mother's watchful gaze, becomes a lovely, introverted, slightly eccentric girl. As she reaches adolescence and needs Billie's full-time attention less, Billie throws herself into extreme sports--marathons, scuba diving, rock climbs, solo hikes. On one of these expeditions, Billie vanishes from the trail--only a hiking boot is found. The family is devastated--a year of intense mourning passes in which they await the closure that a body and a death certificate will bring. Jonathan drinks; Olive grows remote. But then she starts having waking dreams--hallucinations?--in which her very vibrant mother urges the girl to look for her, and Olive begins to believe her mother is still alive and in trouble. Jonathan believes the trauma and anxiety of losing her mother is making Olive ill, until he uncovers a secret that that compels him to consider that Billie may not be dead after all and sends him on his own quest for the truth--about Billie, their marriage, and the things people do in the name of love.."--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Brown, J. (2017). Watch me disappear: a novel (First edition.). Spiegel & Grau.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Brown, Janelle. 2017. Watch Me Disappear: A Novel. New York: Spiegel & Grau.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Brown, Janelle. Watch Me Disappear: A Novel New York: Spiegel & Grau, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Brown, Janelle. Watch Me Disappear: A Novel First edition., Spiegel & Grau, 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.