Yellowface : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2023].
Edition
First edition.
Appears on list
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Rapid City Public Library - Fiction - AdultKUANGChecked OutMarch 2, 2024
LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Hearst Library - Fiction - AdultKUAOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2023].
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
323 pages ; 24 cm
Language
English

Notes

Description
What's the harm in a pseudonym? Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn't write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American--in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author R. F. Kuang in the vein of White Ivy and The Other Black Girl. Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars: same year at Yale, same debut year in publishing. But Athena's a cross-genre literary darling, and June didn't even get a paperback release. Nobody wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks. So when June witnesses Athena's death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena's just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers to the British and French war efforts during World War I. So what if June edits Athena's novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song--complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree. But June can't get away from Athena's shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June's (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves. With its totally immersive first-person voice, Yellowface takes on questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation not only in the publishing industry but the persistent erasure of Asian-American voices and history by Western white society. R. F. Kuang's novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. (2023). Yellowface: a novel (First edition.). William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. 2023. Yellowface: A Novel. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. Yellowface: A Novel William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. Yellowface: A Novel First edition., William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.